Everything you need to know about the UEFA Champions League and Europa League Draws

Uefa Chaampions league

UEFA Champions League draw takes place on Thursday at the Grimaldi Forum at 17:00 BST in Monaco. Already qualified into the group stages are 26 teams with still more teams to join on board through second legs playoffs due to end on Wednesday.Read on to find out more about the UCL and Europa league draws 

How is the UEFA champions league draw determined?

UCL and Europa League winners are drawn into pot one alongside champions in each of the six ranked best leagues across European nations.

In this year draw, three Spanish teams directly qualified for the group stages with Real Madrid bagging the UEFA Champions League trophy, Atletico Madrid winning Europa League with Barcelona clinching the La Liga title.Football News

In England, Man City will be in pot one, Man United and Tottenham in pot two with Liverpool to be drawn into pot three or two.

The rest of the pots are decided by club coefficients in terms of discipline and the performances of their football associations with the past 5 years. 

Each team from every pot will be drawn to make eight groups of four teams such that clubs from same nations cannot be drawn together during the group stages.

When will the matches start?

 Champions’ League group stage matches commence will take place on 18th and 19th September with each clubs playing their last group stage matches on 11th and 12th December.

The knockout stages will resume in February with the Champions League final match taking place in Spain, at Atletico Madrid’s home ground Wanda Metropolitano Stadium on 1st June 2019.

These are the teams that have already qualified into the group stages

Pot one: Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Manchester City, Juventus, Paris St-Germain, Lokomotiv Moscow.

Pot two: Borussia Dortmund, Porto, Manchester United, Shakhtar Donetsk, Napoli, Tottenham Hotspur, Roma.

Pot three: Schalke, Lyon, Monaco, CSKA Moscow

Pot four: Club Brugge, Galatasaray, Inter Milan, Hoffenheim.

To be decided: Liverpool, Valencia, Viktoria Plzen, plus six play-off winners.

Europa League Draw  

2013 Europa League winners Chelsea and Arsenal will know their opponents when the draw will be made at Grimaldi Forum on Thursady in Monaco at 12:00 BST. Burnley, Celtic and Rangers will join Arsenal and Chelsea if their overcome their opponents second playoffs on Wednesday. A total of 48 teams will make the draws split into 12 groups of four teams.

How the draw works

 Arsenal, Chelsea in pot one will also have German’s Bayer Leverkusen and Villareal from Spain.

The 48 teams split into four seeding pots are determined by each clubs coefficients as well as the performance of their respective associations in the past 5 years with each team of the 12 groups having one team from each seeding tier.

Burnley will make the draw on condition that they will overturn a 3-1 deficit against Greek side Olympiacos in the second leg at Turf moor. Similarly, Celtic and Rangers will also make the draw if Celtic overturn a 1-1 draw against Suduva at home and Rangers maintain their 1-0 lead away against Ufa in Russia.

Teams from each nation cannot be drawn together with seventeen teams alongside 21 winners of the play-off rounds will make it at the group stages.

The eventual six losers in the Champions League playoffs will also feature into the draws with the already defeated teams in the third qualifying round of Champiuons League which include, Standard Liege, Fenerbache, Slavia Prague and Spartak Moscow.

Teams involved in the draw are:

England: Arsenal, Chelsea.

Germany: Bayer Leverkusen, Eintracht Frankfurt.

Spain: Villarreal, Real Betis.

Italy: Lazio, AC Milan.

France: Marseille, Rennes.

Belgium: Anderlecht, Standard Liege.

Portugal: Sporting Lisbon.

Turkey: Fenerbahce, Akhisar Belediyespor.

Russia: Krasnodar, Spartak Moscow.

Switzerland: FC Zurich.

Ukraine: Vorskla Poltava.

Czech Republic: Slavia Prague, Jablonec.

When does the Europa League action start?

 First UEFA Europa League matches will commence on 20th September with the last group matches taking place on 13th December.

The knockouts round are scheduled in February with the final taking place at the Olympic Stadium in Baku, Azerbaijan on 29th May 2019.

Author : ColloNGA